Dear Meredyth,

Have I told you about my lovely neighbor Liz? Well, she’s just great. Her village, Mokatako (it’s fun to day), is 9k down the road from me. In Peace Corps terms, we are practically next door to each other. Our communities are really connected because the health and community services for our region are located in my village, so Liz and I have lots of opportunities to work together. Liz comes over to my village some weeks to give lessons at the clinic with me on the day that HIV patients come in for their ARVs. We are pretty much tag team super star volunteers.

Working together on projects is just one of the many reasons why I love Liz and I love that she is my neighbor. Another perk of this arrangement is that we have weekly “meetings”, usually at my house. These “meetings” start on Wednesday mornings; Liz will arrive in my village on the early (only) combi at 6:30 am, right in time for me finishing my morning run. I make us breakfast and coffee while we catch up on all the things we’ve been doing so far that week (insert sarcasm). After breakfast we go to the clinic for our ARV adherence lesson, followed by a fun condom demonstration, then back to my place.

This where the important stuff begins, I make popcorn snacks, and we watch Sherlock or some other amazing television. We do this for a while. After lunch we pull ourselves out of this stupor and go to the library where I make the children stop playing computer games and read a book for a while. Thus goes the weekly meetings, some weeks are more productive, some less (if you can believe it), but all are spent in great company.

This particular week we decided to spice things up, or sweeten thing up, with cookies. I asked Liz what is her favorite cookie, and told her I’ll make it! The answer is one of her Dad’s famous, family recipe cookies. Since Liz’s parents are coming to Africa next week, this was a great way to prepare for their arrival.

Mr. Sundin’s Sour Cream Cookies

(Makes 5 dozen)
1/2 cup of Butter or Margarine
1 1/2 cups of Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla
2 eggs
4 1/2 cups of Sifted Flour
2 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1 cup of Sour Cream (or plain yogurt)

ImageDirections:

Thoroughly cream butter and sugar; add vanilla and eggs, mix well. Add sour cream and mix well. Sift together dry ingredients and mix thoroughly with other mixture. Drop dough by teaspoon on cookie sheet. Dip a glass in water, then in additional sugar and press the cookie.

Dip in sugar again and lightly pat cookie. Bake at 425 degrees, approximately 8 minutes.

Image

Liz is a novice cook/baker, but she’s an excellent kitchen assistant. She also provides wonderful entertainment.

We had to substitute yogurt for sour cream, due to scarce resources, but it actually turned out really delicious.

These cookies were sweet, creamy and perfect when dipped in coffee.

Thanks Mr. Sundin, this recipe is a keeper. I’ll make them for you one day too!

All my love,

Julia

