Tags

, , ,

I should be working on my classroom management procedures right now. I should be working on my TEKS for the next six week syllabus I created. I should be doing so many things right now. But I got home from a teacher workday to a letter from Gordon and all I wanted to do was remember my winter break for just a little bit longer before we get into the hurly burly of a new semester (did you like my Macbeth reference? We’re about to start discussing it).

I don’t really know what to expect tomorrow, all I know is my peace and quiet is about to be broken. The week I got back I split my time between doing chores, reading books and planning my syllabus. That might not sound like fun, but it was. There is something that is sickeningly relaxing about getting one’s house in order.

I bought a couch! Ian and I have been cuddling on it while watching movies. We spent New Year’s Eve on it and then I fell asleep on it before 12 am. It’s pathetic.

And I read two books. Somehow this feels like an achievement. Somehow it feels as though I haven’t read a single book all year. I know that isn’t true, but mostly all the books I’ve been reading haven’t really stuck in my head. These did.

The Passing Bells by Phillip Rock. If you like Downton Abbey you’d love this book.

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming by Joshilyn Jackson. I first starting reading her books a few years ago because I liked her name and her titles. The first one I read was gods in Alabama and I know this sounds like such a literary snobbish thing to say but I just love her voice so much that I want to be her. I want to steal her talent and write her books for the remainder of my life. Ian suggested we go find her and stalk her and I could bath in her blood. I’m not going to go that far, but it did make me re-read my half started novel in anticipation for this summer when I’ll take a serious crack at it.

All of this reminds me of what I intended to write about. This is the year of loving myself. I decided this last night on our date night. I looked pretty and ate delicious food and enjoyed the company of my husband. And then I decided to make this the year where I don’t say bad things about myself, and don’t think bad things about myself. I want to be nice to myself and think nice things about myself. I also want to be loving and kind to myself. This will include working smarter, not harder so I don’t stress out too much and make myself sick with my procrastination. I want to be gracious with myself.

I also want to take better care of myself and that means I’ll be preparing for that triathlon and trying to eat delicious, but healthy things.

But for now, I should probably start planning my classroom management procedures in anticipation of a good, organized remainder of the year. And then, I can write my great American novel.

 

