Tags

Julia,
I want to try some of those bread recipes. It might be easier for me to do them than the recipes I’ve been screwing up! Tried a few more times and I’m still at a loss. Sometimes I know what I did wrong and sometimes I am completely confused by why I now have a heavy hunk of non-rising dough.
Fortunately, my cooking has still remained fairly decent. I have had a few mishaps. Like when my lamb roast was way too chewy and we had to pick up the bone-in lamb and gnaw it off. When I looked up some suggestions on how to cook lamb roast they said a good searing pan fry would be good. But I really should have slow cooked it. It made me angry because the sides and my intention were so good and it was Sunday dinner, so I wanted the lamb to be great. I got it from a farmer’s market and it cost a little more than I can afford, so that was even more disappointing, that I screwed it up.
The other frustrating failure were the black eyed beans. I cooked them following the directions on the back (which usually is pretty reliable) but even after everything I did to combat it, they were hard and dry. I ate them with quinoa I’d made earlier just because I was starving. Ian ate them too, and we laughed about how I can make some really good sh*t but I can’t make beans. We went to the grocery store and loaded up with some more dried beans so I can try it again. But here are some of my recent successes:

Corn bread topped with shrimp, tomato and avocado salad. Carrots on the side and parsley as a garnish

No egg, no butter cake with cherry preserve sauce

Chicken Corn Chowder (more to follow)

Lightly breaded trout on a bed of Israeli couscous with corn, mango, avocado and tomato salad

Bread! I actually did it! Once!

Tomato Soup (croutons made with your gift, The Green Kitchen) 

Braised chicken thigh with squash, zucchini and carrots

Garlic and cheddar buttermilk biscuits
