Tags

,

Please fill my veins with hollandaise. Then I will know that heaven really does exist. Actually, I should consider doing it right now. I don’t care so much about the blood; it’s the lemon and butter concoction that I would prefer.

As you probably already know, Dad got me Mastering the Art of French Cooking for my birthday/graduation. We had brunch at Jasmine Cafe and he had the Eggs Benedict with Beef Tenderloin and my jealousy must have remained until this evening because when I was coming home from grading papers at a friend’s house it was all I could think about. So I pulled open my book and started the process. It’s pretty simple and pretty sinful. 4 tablespoons of butter, two egg yolks, lemon, water and salt. That’s all. I topped my toasted baguette slices and egg with the sauce, which pooled around the islands of bread like a pale yellow sea. It was messy eating because the toasted bread was a leetle tough. But I didn’t mind getting my fingers messy (by the way, my book now has butter stains, proof it is well loved already). In fact, I cut up some more bread and mopped up the remains. Don’t judge me, I loved every minute of it, which is why I realized I should have the transfusion. STAT.

Honestly, this was one of the most delicious things I’ve had recently. The sauce is so lemony and tart, but with this butter flavor that just makes it creamy. It’s light but rich at the same time. Perhaps this is why there is a whole section in the book entitled “The Hollandaise Family.” What? There’s more than one kind? Oh, my.

