Tags

Since moving to Richmond I’ve learned a few lessons about making friends and delicious foods, they go hand in hand. First, make friends with people who have a front porch, preferably one with a grill. Second, make friends with people who grow vegetables in their back yard. Third, premature warm weather leads to an interesting mix of winter vegetables and spring cookouts. When you combine all these things it leads to a delicious social event. Last night I sat on the front porch of my friend’s house studying for my Intergovernmental Relations exam while Butternut Squash, Asparagus, spicy Tempeh and beef sirloin tips roasted on the grill. There’s nothing better than spending the day studying and rewarding yourself with a glass of wine and grilled vegetables. Who knew that college could be so delicious? Also, I hadn’t realized how versatile a grill can be. I haven’t met a meal that’s been marinated and cooked over coals that isn’t absolutely delicious! I am mouthwateringly anticipating the growth of my friends garden, in which he’s growing bell peppers, watermelon, tomatoes, tomatillos, squash, strawberries and herbs! You must join us for stuffed peppers and my next adventure, gazpacho!!
Cheers to the love of food and sisterhood,
Julia

