Tags


Even when I am sick and overwhelmed by schoolwork I can’t help but enjoy the holidays that come bunched together like holly on the branch, bright and red and yes, poisonous (if you let them get to you). First we have Thanksgiving which is a holiday dedicated to eating and family and being together. Then we have Christmas, which means presents. Let’s not talk about the religious aspects or the commercialization of it, let’s just think about spending time with people you love and getting gifts and eating food.

Because my mother is getting married on December 27th in South Carolina we are going to spend Christmas with her. This means that I will be spending the holiday away from my boyfriend, who doesn’t like Christmas anyway, but is sad that I won’t be spending it with him. Where is the logic in this? I don’t know. Anyway, my dad and my stepmom are spending Christmas in Yorkshire with her sister’s family so I thought we should do an early Christmas, and exchange gifts. While taking a break from reading for school I watched “The Barefoot Contessa” and her holiday dish making got me thinking.
Here is my proposed menu:
Mashed Carrots (the boyfriend had these at a friend’s recently and loved them)
Poundcake Trifle with Raspberries Ina’s recipe calls for orange in the pound cake and the cream but I hate orange unless it’s the fruit or the juice, so I will do without. Maybe some zest. That’s it, Ina! Maybe I’ll do them individually. I don’t know.
Anyway, I think this sounds pretty great. Maybe I’ll do wild rice too. I made about a gallon of turkey broth from a cooked turkey my roommate was given by her boss. That would be delicious with wild rice.
